We had a baby!

The newest addition

OK, not a real baby … but still. It’s pretty amazing when you think about the fact that we never even knew any of our fish were pregnant. I’m thinking of writing in to that “I Didn’t Know I Was Pregnant” show so they can feature my fish. Although I’m pretty sure she probably knew she was pregnant. But still. Anyway, to be perfectly honest, we were a little late figuring out that this one was even born. I was just looking in the tank a couple weeks ago and saw this little guy swimming around. And for those of you who don’t know anything about fish, the adult fish usually eat them when they’re born if you don’t take them out of the tank. And there are usually something like 6 born at a time. In a litter or whatever the hell you call broods of baby fish. But this one was already this big when I first found him. Which means that I am completely unobservant this stealthy little guy managed to hide well enough to avoid being ingested by the bigger fish or sucked up by the water filter AND find enough teeny food to survive, because you’re supposed to give them special newborn food which obviously we didn’t. So he’s pretty much my hero. We’re calling him Darwin. Sadly, he is the only little guy in the tank, which means his other fishy siblings were not so lucky.

Survival of the fittest.

I am going to be an awesome mom.

***Tune in tomorrow for my very timely New Year’s post. Because what fun is doing things on time? That’s so 2009.***

